Got To Another Phillies Opening Day

We have been up in the air about going to the Phillies home opener this year. We really wanted to see Sanchez pitch. The weather this time of the year can be so iffy for one thing, and it can be expensive. We had no idea if we were going to be able to make it either.

Fast forward to last week, we figured out going would be a possibility, and the weather looked decent. We were planning on not going but kept our minds open to going. Each day the weather was looking better, and then I found some relatively cheap tickets on SeatGeek, so we decided to go.

Since the game was starting later in the afternoon, I came up with the idea to grab a cheesesteak and split it between the two of us. I would rather not eat too much before the game and the train trip home but also did not want to go on an empty stomach. The lightbulb in my head lit up that we could just split one.

We toyed with going to Skilly Joey’s since it is on the way or catching an Uber to try John’s Roast Pork. I remembered seeing mixed but mostly good reviews on cleavers. Last year we tried going, but the sign said they were closed. We could walk there from the train station this morning, so why not give it a try? We got there and ordered one to split. Let me tell you, it was really a good cheesesteak. Let me make it abundantly clear that if we were staying in a hotel, we’d not be splitting a sandwich. I would eat the whole thing myself. We will go back.

Cleavers Cheese steak

Here is a photo of cheese steak

After eating and going into a nearby store, we hopped on the orange line to head to the stadium. We got there with about a half hour to wait for the gates to open. We got in there, grabbed a drink, and wandered around a bit before finding our seats.

While Molly went to the bathroom, I saw DeGrom throwing in the bullpen. I hate the Mets, but he’s not with them anymore. I also recognize one of the greats. It was neat to watch him throw a few.

deGrom In The Bullpen

here is a photo of Degrom throwing in the bubllpen.

The weather for the game couldn’t possibly have been any better baseball weather for this time of the year in Philly. It was dry and mostly sunny with temperatures near 80. There was a strong wind blowing to the outfield.

Stadium Opening Day

Here is a photo citizens bank park on a mostly clear opening day.

The Phantic was dressed in old-fashioned clothing. That was neat. They had a band going around the stadium playing and eventually out in the field too.

Old Phanatic

Here is a photo of the Phillie Phanaitic dressed in old timey clothes.

The game was a good game. It had plenty of great things. Schwarber did Schwarber things. Bohm had a home run too! It was outstanding to see Crawford’s debut and first hit. I actually recorded it. Sanchez had a great game for his first start. He is always so good.

Through most of the game it was a shutout. Since it is the Phillies thing, they did what would be expected. The bullpen shit the bed in the ninth inning. At least we got to see Duran’s entrance.

It was a fun time. I got to boo Burger and Nimmo, so that is always a thing to do.